top of page

VENUES

U-Bahn Station Rathaus Steglitz

Opening times: around the clock

Duration: 03.05. - 30.06.2024

Participants

Carolina del Pilar & Eliana Araque

Eliana Araque and Carolina del Pilar, two visual artists born in Colombia and living in Berlin, combine their passions in the exhibition "Transfiguration". Eliana's curiosity and expansion of knowledge meet Carolina's engagement with the medium and the play of light and shadow. Together they form a versatile spatial installation that resonates with its surroundings.


"Transfiguration" is inspired by the metamorphosis and adaptability of flowers. The artists create biomorphic sculptures from recycled paper that will be attached to the fences of Berlin Recycling GmbH as part of the Paper Futur Lab in Berlin. Inspired by nature's resilience to wind, rain and sun, the recycled material is "transformed" into aesthetically pleasing and at the same time resilient art objects. The installation reacts to the environment. The paper modules will show shadows and changes in their appearance due to the weather conditions. Sun and rain can discolor, color or blur the paper, visitors can view the installation from different perspectives and thus discover new shapes and patterns again and again. The transformation of the installation through meteorological influences and interactions is the focus of our interest in developing this artwork. "Transfiguration" is an example of sustainability and circular economy. By using recycled paper as the main material, its creators give new life to waste materials and address environmental awareness.


Oliver Otto Rednitz

Ever since Oliver Otto Rednitz intervened with posters in public space, he has had an enthusiasm for the countless layered advertising posters, which become three-dimensional reliefs through constant pasting over and changing weather conditions. The plasticity of the posters is highlighted, enhanced and sustainably processed in its complexity. Between abstraction and Pop Art, a symbiosis of the opposites of consumption and culture emerges.


In his series PAPERWORX, Rednitz uses fragments of other posters in the last level, whose motifs or slogans are freed from brands. The result is three-dimensional objects that invite discourse and critically question advertising strategies. Waste products or seemingly useless materials are transformed into objects of higher value. Resources are conserved and waste is reduced. Finally, the entire paper cycle will be reconsidered and critically examined.


Already during his studies of architecture in Braunschweig, Stuttgart, Barcelona and London as well as in addition to his practical work as an architect in Rotterdam, Budapest, Shanghai and Berlin, Oliver Otto Rednitz passionately dealt with artistic topics. Since 2003, he has been intervening with posters in public space to create spiritual sculptures and describe a social sculpture. His poster art regenerates the increasingly privatized public space and encourages viewers to discuss focal points of social life. Its goal is to promote social responsibility, love, respect and compassion. Through installations and happenings, he creates a basis for communication and conversation between people. Most recently, he has been intensively involved with large-format collages that critically question and neutralize advertising strategies.

bottom of page

top of page

Berlin 
Recycling

Monumentenstraße 14, 10829 Berlin, Deutschland

Öffnungszeiten: Mo. - Fr. 8.00 - 18.00 Uhr

Laufzeit: 1.08. - 30.09.

Teilnehmende

Carolina del Pilar & Eliana Araque

Laufzeit: 1.08 - 30.09.2024


Eliana Araque und Carolina del Pilar, zwei in Kolumbien geborene und in  Berlin lebende bildende Künstlerinnen, vereinen in der Ausstellung  "Transfiguration" ihre Leidenschaften. Elianas Neugier und  Wissenserweiterung treffen auf Carolinas Auseinandersetzung mit dem  Medium und dem Spiel von Licht und Schatten. Gemeinsam bilden sie eine  vielseitige Rauminstallation, die mit ihrer Umgebung in Resonanz tritt.


"Transfiguration“ ist inspiriert von der Metamorphose und  Anpassungsfähigkeit von Blumen. Die Künstlerinnen schaffen biomorphe  Skulpturen aus Recyclingpapier, die im Rahmen des Paper Futur Lab in Berlin an den Zaunzäunen der Berlin Recycling GmbH angebracht werden. Inspiriert von der Widerstandsfähigkeit der Natur gegenüber Wind,  Regen und Sonne, wird das recycelte Material in ästhetisch ansprechende und zugleich widerstandsfähige Kunstobjekte "verwandelt". Die Installation reagiert auf die Umgebung. Die Papiermodule werden Schatten und Veränderungen in ihrer Erscheinung durch die Wetterlage zeigen. Sonne und Regen können das Papier verfärben, einfärben oder  verwischen, die Besucher können die Installation aus verschiedenen Perspektiven betrachten und so immer wieder neue Formen und Muster entdecken. Die Verwandlung der Installation durch meteorologische  Einflüsse und Wechselwirkungen steht im Mittelpunkt unseres Interesses bei  der Entwicklung dieses Kunstwerks.  "Transfiguration" ist ein Beispiel für Nachhaltigkeit und Kreislaufwirtschaft. Durch die Verwendung von recyceltem Papier als Hauptmaterial geben ihre Schöpfer Abfallstoffen neues Leben und thematisieren das  Umweltbewusstsein.



Oliver Otto Rednitz

Laufzeit: 1.08 - 30.09.2024


Seitdem Oliver Otto Rednitz mit Plakaten im öffentlichen Raum interveniert hat er eine Begeisterung für die unzählig geschichteten Werbeplakate, die durch ständiges Überkleben und sich wechselnden Wetterbedingungen zu dreidimensionalen Reliefs werden. Die Plastizität der Plakate wird in ihrer Vielschichtigkeit hervorgehoben, aufgewertet und nachhaltig verarbeitet. Zwischen Abstraktion und Pop Art entsteht eine Symbiose der Gegensätze aus Konsum und Kultur.


In seiner Serie PAPERWORX nutzt Rednitz in der letzten Ebene Fragmente anderer Plakate, deren Motive oder Slogans von Marken befreit werden. Es entstehen dreidimensionale Objekte, die zum Diskurs einladen und Werbestrategien kritisch hinterfragen. Abfallprodukte oder scheinbar nutzlose Materialien werden in Objekte von höherem Wert umgewandelt. Ressourcen werden geschont und Abfall reduziert. Schließlich wird der gesamte Papierkreislauf neu betrachtet und kritisch hinterleuchtet.


Schon während seinem Studium der Architektur in Braunschweig, Stuttgart, Barcelona und London sowie neben seiner praktischen Tätigkeit als Architekt in Rotterdam, Budapest, Shanghai und Berlin hat Oliver Otto Rednitz sich leidenschaftlich mit künstlerischen Themen auseinandergesetzt. Seit 2003 interveniert er mit Plakaten im öffentlichen Raum, um geistige Skulpturen zu schaffen und eine Soziale Plastik zu beschreiben. Seine Plakatkunst regeneriert den zunehmend privatisierten öffentlichen Raum und regt die Betrachter zur Diskussion über Brennpunkte des sozialen Lebens an. Sein Ziel ist es, gesellschaftliche Verantwortung, Liebe, Respekt und Mitgefühl zu fördern. Durch Installationen und Happenings schafft er eine Basis für Kommunikation und Konversation zwischen den Menschen. Zuletzt beschäftigt er sich intensiv mit großformatigen Collagen, die kritisch die Werbestrategien hinterfragen und neutralisieren.

bottom of page