top of page

Drew Matott

For two-years during the Covid-19 pandemic, book & paper artist Drew Matott, walked around the streets of Hamburg picking up discarded face masks from the ground. He brought the material back to his studio in Hamburg, where he disinfected, pulped and transformed it into handmade paper. He created over 4000 sheets of A3 paper for artists, such as A Revolutionary Press (USA), Jana Schumacher (Germany) and Thomas Judish (Germany).

In addition to making plain sheets of paper, Matott used the pulped facemasks to make a series of paper portraits of the different variants. These sheets were formed by pouring the pulp onto a 115cm mould, distressing the wet sheet by splashing holes using water. After the water was removed from the papermaking vat, the freshly formed sheet of paper was selectively hand pressed and then pulp printed using a silkscreen stencil and finely processed and pigmented cotton pulp. The end result was a series of pulp paintings that have been exhibited in the United States, Germany, France and Slovenia.

Matott seeks to draw attention to the magnitude of litter that was created during the Pandemic; while reminding the us of teh severity of the Covid threat, the reasons why masks were being worn at all.


Text by Drew Luan Matott


Ort: Nochmall

NochMall, Auguste-Viktoria-Allee, Berlin, Deutschland

Öffnungszeiten: Mon. - Sat. 10. 00 to 18.00 pm
Thu. 10.00 to 20.00 pm

Laufzeit: TBD

bottom of page

top of page

Drew Matott

Während der Covid-19-Pandemie lief der Buch- und Papierkünstler Drew Matott zwei Jahre lang durch die Straßen Hamburgs und sammelte weggeworfene Gesichtsmasken vom Boden auf. Er brachte das Material zurück in sein Atelier in Hamburg, wo er es desinfizierte, zerkleinerte und zu handgeschöpftem Papier verarbeitete. Er schuf über 4000 Blatt A3-Papier für Künstler wie A Revolutionary Press (USA), Jana Schumacher (Deutschland) und Thomas Judish (Deutschland). 


Neben der Herstellung von einfachen Papierbögen, verwendete Matott die zerkleinerten Gesichtsmasken auch, um eine Reihe von Papierporträts der verschiedenen Varianten herzustellen. Diese Platten wurden geformt, indem der Zellstoff auf eine 115 cm lange Form gegossen wurde, wobei die nasse Platte durch Spritzen von Löchern mit Wasser belastet wurde. Nachdem das Wasser aus dem Papierbehälter entfernt worden war, wurde das frisch geformte Blatt Papier selektiv von Hand gepresst und dann mit einer Siebdruckschablone und fein verarbeitetem und pigmentiertem Baumwollzellstoff bedruckt. Das Endergebnis war eine Serie von Pulp-Gemälden, die in den Vereinigten Staaten, Deutschland, Frankreich und Slowenien ausgestellt wurden.


Matott versucht, die Aufmerksamkeit auf das Ausmaß des Mülls zu lenken, der während der Pandemie entstanden ist; und erinnert an die Schwere der Covid-Bedrohung und die Gründe, warum überhaupt Masken getragen wurden.


Text von Drew Luan Matott



Ort: Nochmall

NochMall, Auguste-Viktoria-Allee, Berlin, Deutschland

Öffnungszeiten: Mo. - Sa. 10. 00 bis 18.00 Uhr
Do. 10.00 bis 20.00 Uhr

Laufzeit: TBD

bottom of page